School of Health Professions Catalog

In 1968, Dr. Charles C. Sprague, then Dean of The University of Texas Southwestern Medical School, initiated the planning for a new School of Allied Health Professions in Dallas. Dr. Richard D. Burk, Chairman of the Department of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, was named the first Dean of the school in February 1969. Under his leadership and with the assistance of Associate Dean Harry J. Parker, students were first enrolled in baccalaureate programs for the 1970-71 academic year in Medical Technology, Physical Therapy, and Rehabilitation Science, and in a post-baccalaureate Dietetic Internship.

Dr. John W. Schermerhorn was appointed Dean of the School in August 1971. He was succeeded by Dr. William J. Gonyea in 1985. In 1988, Dr. Vernie A. Stembridge assumed duties as interim Dean. Dr. Gordon Green was appointed Dean in January 1991. In 2006, Dr. Raul Caetano became Dean and served until 2014. Dr. Jon Williamson was appointed Dean of the School in October 2015 after serving as interim Dean for nine months.

The School originally was housed in Methodist Hospital’s School of Nursing facilities. From 1973 until 1983, it occupied facilities at 6003 Maple Ave. In 1983, the School relocated to the Locke Building, 6011 Harry Hines Blvd. The building subsequently was remodeled and renamed The University of Texas Southwestern Allied Health Sciences School Building (now the UT Southwestern School of Health Professions Building). In 2008, the School was renamed the UT Southwestern School of Health Professions. Permanent facilities in the building include classrooms, clinics, laboratories, and administrative offices for most departments of the school promoting a highly collaborative and interprofessional environment.